Chassis Appraisal...be honest :)

· 10 · 2786

mudTerrain

Chassis Appraisal...be honest :)
« on: June 09, 2016, 09:29:10 PM »
Hello,

throwing caution fully out of the window, I bought a galvanised chassis plus various bits (an abandoned project, basically) off eBay.

The chassis was advertised "as new" but I'm not so sure now it's turned up on the back of a truck :(  The chap driving the truck wasn't too impressed with it...

The galvanising job obviously isn't great, but it's passable - the problem I have with it is it looks to me like rust had already got into the rear cross-member before the galvanising was done:

I paid £1500 for all this splendour - what do you think?  I think it's just been sat out for a long time, "waiting" to be done, but I really don't like the look of that rear cross-member...

Any opinions would be welcome - brutal as you like :)

Thanks...

Sandy M

Re: Chassis Appraisal...be honest :)
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2016, 11:35:58 PM »
I am no expert having only ever owned the one galvanised chassis for the last 16 years.

Looks to me that someone has sent a dirty, rusty, and bent chassis to be hot dipped, then when the zinc has fallen of the rusty, crud infested nooks and crannies that some one has then applied copiuos amouts of silver paint to try and make up for the lack of preparation.

konads

« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2016, 06:36:58 AM »
If that was advertised to me as 'as new' the seller would be getting it back! Galvanising is awesome but it won't magically heal an already-crusty chassis.

Have you spoken to the seller about it?

piper5

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2016, 07:05:37 AM »