Series 3 Diesel Engine replacement

· 4 · 1307

JimboH

• Name: Jimbo
Series 3 Diesel Engine replacement
« on: October 28, 2012, 08:46:58 AM »
I'm new to this game. Have just bought a 1982 series 3 2.25 diesel in bits. New chassis and running gear however, so worth rebuilding.
The Question I have is, do I take a chance and stick the old chugger back in, or, get it refurbished before putting back, or as a local garage suggested, replace with a 200 or even 300Tdi?
Any thoughts / previous experiences would be greatly appreciated before I start work on the restoration.
Many thanks
Jim

rangerovering

Re: Series 3 Diesel Engine replacement
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2012, 11:02:41 AM »
Hi Jim

Firstly it depends what you want to use the truck for - lots of miles/everyday use would suggest the newer engines would be better (with or without turbo).

However for originality and cost the old 2.25 will plod on for a long time and if properly set up is actually an acceptable little engine.

If going Tdi the brakes will need upgraded to twin leading shoes on the front AS A MINIMUM. Even without the turbo you are putting 50% more power through the wheels and need to be able to stop properly. Keeping the turbo will put a lot of strain on the gearbox especially if high mileage and transmission upgrades are not a 2 min job!

Depending on the intended useage, I would lean towards either a non turbo tdi engine or rebuilding the 2.25. The cost will not be that much different (Tdi's still demand silly money for the age and mileage of them) and you will know exactly what you are driving.

My own 2 penneth would be for using the 2.25 at the moment, changing to the later engine is an easy job that can be tackled in a weekend.
Steve

prof-pat-pending

• Name: nick
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2012, 03:26:20 PM »
2.5 n/a is a good plodder - had one and it was good -ex military re-cons available  :D