recon short engine or new better engine

· 8 · 1818

Mortlachman

• Davaar B&B
recon short engine or new better engine
« on: September 11, 2015, 08:09:49 PM »
Can anyone help me out as I am new to Landrovers, I have a 1984 2.5 N/A Diesel Defender the rings are badly worn and pressure builds up.  I want to keep it and am considering either reconning the short engine or if possible obtaining an exchange reconned one. However I have been told that there is also another engine that will fit straight in and is more powerful than the original 2.5 N/A but I don't know what it is.  Can anyone give me any info please.

lurch032003

Re: recon short engine or new better engine
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2015, 08:51:44 PM »
Hi I don't know about re conning , but series motors can have 200 or300td from a disco fitted but also require the gear box axels and wiring and some modes done to fit it all in, but it is possible there is folk here which I'm sure will pop on and give you more information, if you end up getting rid is said engine give me a shout as just fitted a 2.5 n/a diesel to mine and struggling to get it started and yours may have parts to help fix mine so please shout me if your getting rid of it.
On anther not there is other engines that fit the original 2:25 petrol and diesel but I suspect one engine mount on drivers side would have to be change back for it to be fitted and is basically a start swap bar connecting up its start stop which is easy enough done.
Hope this helps
John

piper5

« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2015, 08:38:15 AM »
convert to a 300tdi theres plenty about and plenty info on the web about how to do it, if you are capable of swapping your existing engine you could do the swap to tdi no problem

Sandy M

« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2015, 11:45:54 AM »